6 months on…

It’s hard to know where to begin as there’s been so much that has happened since I sat down to share an update but here we go…

Tomorrow marks 6 months since my last day as a corporate lawyer.

I’m a much happier, relaxed version of Amy than I was 6 months ago and I wouldn’t change that part of my story at all however, I’ve recently realised that just because I left behind the hustle culture and environment of corporate life, doesn’t mean it left me immediately.

After 2 weeks completely off work, I had felt more “myself” than I had in years. I had felt refreshed and ready to start on the next chapter of my life, which reflected my past MO: highly-driven, Type A high-achiever (and perhaps always needing to prove myself). Taking bold action was what I needed to do at the time. Taking further time to rest at that moment in time would have probably caused more anxiousness and restlessness in my spirit.

In hindsight though, I can see now that whilst my head knew that, as a faith-filled Christian, my worth was not found in my work but in my status as a child of God, my desire to start building so soon after my last job, revealed a false belief that my worth as a person was actually tied up with how much I could produce and my outputs (one of the hangups from having to measure your productivity in 6-minute units as a lawyer!).

It’s something I could have only recognised 6 months down the track, after a forced down-time period, several prayer ministry/counselling sessions and lots of self-reflection.

Whilst I still believe the direction/call is correct i.e. I have been called to be an agent of change for burnout culture through speaking, coaching and training others in the area of leadership and wellbeing, I also know that my journey of growth and discovery is not a static one but continues to evolve.

In my journey over the last few weeks, a lot of deep internal work has brought to the surface some of my own false beliefs around my own identity, work/rest and value (side note: isn’t it interesting when we slow down and get still enough that these heart issues rise to the surface??).

As I’ve been able to identify and acknowledge the unhealthy cultural, environmental and familial expectations that have flowed out of own upbringing of being a child of a refugee family, my Asian heritage, my education at a private girl school, growing up in a pastor’s home, going to law school… the inner healing work has begun, which is wonderful but it has also been emotionally taxing and a painful process at times (this is not to throw all my upbringing and experiences away, rather to keep the good and discard the unhealthy parts of it).

So where now? Where does this leave the LIVE LIFE WELL Movement?

The projects we’ve started or are preparing for will continue to go ahead (see further below).

However, there’s been a tug on my heart to take a 3-6 month sabbatical (ceasing from all paid work) sometime in 2022 to devote uninterrupted time to some of this deeper inner work that God has been pulling the threads on. There are also still some after effects of burnout which I know need healing and can only happen away from continuing to “push through” and do the work. Whilst this is for my own freedom and liberation, ultimately I know this is further preparation that will help me become a better coach, speaker and trainer for my clients in the future.

I’m still yet to plan out the details of when, how and what however, I felt like it was it was important to share this part of the journey too – that we are all still a work in progress and it’s okay to take time out to heal our hearts and souls.

Reflection question: What area in your heart/soul may require attention and healing at this point in time?

In the meantime, I’m blessed and honoured to still be involved in the transformation journey of others in these ways:

  1. A collaborative book project I’ve been involved with, “My Courageous Journey” will be launching on International Women’s Day! 10 women share raw and real stories of courage. I’m privileged to be part of this group of women who are on a mission to transform communities and make an impact. If you are in Melbourne, I would love to invite you to our book launch event on 8 March 2022. The link for a pre-order of the book will be out soon if you can’t make it.
  2. Our first group coaching experience, “BURN BRIGHT Base Camp Experience” is underway with amazing feedback from our students (more to come on that) and will continue until the end of April 2022.
  3. Limited 1-1 coaching spots are open and starting in March/April 2022 – book in a free call to discuss with me.
  4. A 5-week mastermind on personal growth is in the works (stay tuned).

Further updates will come via my mailing list so if you haven’t already, scroll to the bottom of this page to sign up.

Thank you for sharing this part of the journey with me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.